Mekong Delta & Phuc Quoc Island - Reisverslag uit Ðảo Phú Quốc, Vietnam van Sophie Oostelbos - WaarBenJij.nu Mekong Delta & Phuc Quoc Island - Reisverslag uit Ðảo Phú Quốc, Vietnam van Sophie Oostelbos - WaarBenJij.nu

Mekong Delta & Phuc Quoc Island

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Sophie

05 Januari 2014 | Vietnam, Ðảo Phú Quốc

After HCMC finally provided me with at least some warmth, I was ready for some full-on sun. Thus, I headed for Phu Quoc Island to chill out for a while and to celebrate new years. After some crazy days in HCMC and a trip to the Mekong Delta, I just needed some R&R. The Mekong Delta trip was amazing, but also meant having to get up at 7 am and 5.30 am respectively on this two-day trip.

Mekong Delta:
The first day we went for a really nice boat trip through some small water channels. For the first time in weeks I experienced something I had been craving for...silence. No screaming, no scooters, no ladies bothering you to buy something. It was simply wonderful. After this boat ride we stopped at a coconut candy factory. Most trips you go on try to sell you more crap while you're on them, and this one was no different. The coconut candy was so good however, that I ended up buying some anyway. But hé, at least I got to try some snake wine for free...

That night most people were staying at a hotel, but I was one of five people who had opted for a "homestay". I had been told I would be staying with a Vietnamese family, so we were all a little disapointed when we got there and the "homestay" was almost like a little resort with bungalows. I thought the way it was set up was at least nice, with a sort of common area with hammocks and people just chilling. This all changed when they showed me my room...It was a little bungalow made of traditional materials...as in bamboo and palm leaves, meaning that basically anything creepy crawly could get in. And sure enough, first thing I saw was a huge frog leaping from the bed as I opened the door. I must mention that we did have a great meal that night, but my fear of insects was not helped by the fact that at some point the biggest beetle ever known to mankind flew into a lamp and was crawling around on the floor only a few meters away from me. I don't know how I survived the night, but I did, huddled up on my bed in fetal position under the mosquito netting, trying to ignore all the crazy midnight insect/animals sounds...

As I said, I did survive, and the next day we visited the floating market...at 7 am. And it had already pretty much died down. Can you imagine how early these people have to get up to sell theirs goods and get back to their villages?! The visit to the floating market was followed by a visit to a rice noodle factory. Then lunch and then it was already time to go. Oh wait. Let's not forget about the part where I ate rat and snake. That was in there somewhere as well. All I'll say about that is that rat is good and snake is...well chewy is one way to put it. Not too excited about how the snake was prepared either. Basically they just shoved it on the BBQ and held it there until it died. Not so humane, so I definitely didn't order any myself, but when others from my group did, I tried some anyway. That snake should not die in vain.

Back in HCMC I met up with Roger (again) and two other Dutch girls for my last meal on Vietnamese mainland. The next day I was off to Phu Quoc. The hostel I stayed at was amazing. Incredibly laid back, relaxed vibe and amazing people. Lam and Timari were the best hosts I have encountered so far, and Lam's English was so good you could actually have an intelligent conversation with him. I originally only booked 4 nights, but I swear this island was like a drug so I just had to stay another night and it took all my willpower to book a boat+bus to Cambodia after 4 incredible days. The joke at the hostel was the "the island" just wouldn't let you go. I met multiple people who had originally booked a few nights and ended up staying for a week or more. One Danish guy had actually been there for close to 3 weeks when I arrived.

New Years on Phu Quoc was different from any other I have celebrated before. We spent it on a deserted beach with a big group from the hostel. The most amazing part of the whole night was definitely a midnight dip in an ocean filled with glittering phosphorescent algae. Never seen anything like it. I swear we must have looked like we were on LSD or something in the way we all got so excited about this natural phenomenon.

Before I even knew it, it was time for me to leave. I still have so many other places to visit. Thus, I was off to Cambodia. First a boat and then a bus trip. I was supposed to arrive in Phnom Penh around 4 pm. That didn't happen. It turned out to be a long long day. More about that later...I'm off to have a cocktail ;)

  • 07 Januari 2014 - 15:44

    Sandra:

    hoi hoi,

    leuk weer al je verhalen.. tja zo'n tropisch eiland....
    nu tempels toch?
    ben weer aan t werk : pff vroeg op enzo en je weet I'll never get used to early mornings especially not when it's dark if the alarms goes off.
    Veel plezier tot snel xxx

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Sophie

Actief sinds 23 Juli 2011
Verslag gelezen: 384
Totaal aantal bezoekers 25797

Voorgaande reizen:

10 December 2013 - 29 Januari 2014

Asia 2013 -Vietnam, Cambodia & Thailand

16 Augustus 2011 - 11 December 2011

Mississippi

Landen bezocht: